+44 (0) 800 123 4567 No.1 Abbey Road London, W1 ECH, UK
contact us About us


The International English Language Testing System is designed to assess the language proficiency of non-native English speakers who need to study or work where English is the major language of communication This test is an important step forward for those seeking to study or work in a foreign country. The IELTS is managed jointly by University of Cambridge ESOL Examination (Cambridge ESOL)-British Council and IDP.

The test is Available in two versions: academic and general

Academic –this type is meant for those who are applying for higher education or professional registration.

General –this one is for those who require more general level of English i.e., for migration or apply for secondary education and work experience in an English-speaking environment.

IELTS is accepted worldwide. It has 48 test dates a year, for academic 4 test dates in a month and 2 dates for general.

IELTS has no pass or fail system. All the modules are measured on 9 band scale and an overall score will be given in the same scale. The band scores clearly identify the candidate’s ability to use and understand English. The validity of the test results is 2 years.

Marking scheme is explained as

Band 9 – Expert User
Band 8 – Very Good User
Band 7 – Good User
Band 6 – Competent User
Band 5 – Modest User
Band 4 – Limited User
Band 3 – Extremely Limited User
Band 2 – Intermittent User
Band 1 – Non User
Band 0 – No original English Used

The format; This test checks 4 skills which include





The first three modules the test (Listening, Reading, Writing) have to be given one day without any break (the main test). While the Speaking test can be any day in 7 days before or after the Listening, Reading, Writing test.